What are International GCSEs?

The International GCSEs / iGCSEs and A Levels are the most commonly studied curriculum around the world. They are based on the UK high school education system and are adapted for a global student base.

  • Students usually begin the International GCSE / iGCSEs curriculum in Grade 10 or 11 by sitting 4-5 subjects. These subjects are structured as first introductions to the specific topic areas that they cover.
  • External exams at the end of the course determine students’ grades. In certain countries, students begin in Year 10 and sit 8-10 subjects over the course of two years.
  • In Grade 12, students can choose to move on to either the AS- and A- levels, or to a national board.

What subjects are offered for International GCSE?

Mathematics A

Explore number systems; functions and graphs; geometry and trigonometry; vectors; and statistics and probability.

English Literature

Engage with texts ranging from British heritage to modern international, such as Romeo and Juliet, and Great Expectations.

English Language A

Learn about non-fiction texts, poetry and prose, transactional writing as well as imaginative writing.


Dive into the nature and variety of living organisms; reproduction and inheritance; ecology and the environment.


In this course you will study principles of chemistry; inorganic and organic chemistry; and physical chemistry.


Explore forces and motion; waves; energy resources; magnetism and electromagnetism; radioactivity; and astrophysics.


This course features a selection of topics covering a diverse range of significant historical events, periods and geographies.


Gain a sound understanding of economics, and use it appropriately in the context of individual countries and the global economy.


Gain the ability to use knowledge, skills and understanding appropriately in the context of individual countries and the global economy.

The Pathway at CGS

Pre-Intl GCSE
  • Year 8-10/Grade 7-9
  • Ages 12-14
  • Part-time or Full-time
  • Year 11/Grade 10
  • Ages 14-15
  • Full-time or part-time
  • Year 12/Grade 11
  • Ages 15-16
  • Full-time or part-time
  • Year 13/Grade 12
  • Ages 16-17
  • Full-time or part-time